Just the Beginning…

We got 3 new children last week, all came from the mountains, all suffering with severe malnutrition. 4 more kids are coming tomorrow, they are all in bad shape. One little boy is nothing but bones, something you would see in an old Holocaust picture. He doesn’t even look human any more. His eyes are much too big for his little face and his skin pulls tight against his ribs each time he takes a breath. I want to hold him, but he cries when I touch him. Everything hurts. He is so far gone that he can’t even swallow, and anything he does get down comes right back up. Right now we have 16 just like him. 50 have already come and gone. They came in like skeletons but left like children. They came in lethargic, unable to walk or sit up on their own, but they left playing soccer and causing trouble. I believe this little boy will leave the same way.

I recently found my journal from 4 years ago. It was full of prayers that I used to pray so hard that it hurt…

It was just the beginning. It still is.

Lord, thank you for hearing my prayers. Thank You for trusting me with this. Thank You for the many lives that will be touched because of what You have started here. Bring them in; bring in every single child that is silently suffering in their homes so far into the mountains that motorcycles and donkeys can’t even reach them. But You can. Use this place to save them and to show them Your love. Not for anyone else’s glory but Yours. I am forever grateful and forever humbled…

Leave a comment